Stuff

I make other stuff apart from art, and have done for as long as I can remember. My Mum is very creative, so when I was growing up in the middle of nowhere, in Nigeria, she came up with ideas to help me pass the afternoons when school work was done. She actually taught me  FLOWER BROOCHfor four years. Difficult sometimes – a real battle of wills ! She’s a textile artist and always making something – it would be great if I could get some photos of the things she produced at Goldsmiths, to put on this blog. They’re in her attic.                     This assemblage brooch went to a friend in the north of England.Curio keys 2                                                             When I lived in Tangier, before returning to Abu Dhabi, I used to find some fabulous stuff at the flea market, Casabarata.  It’s one of the things I really miss. There’s nothing old in A.D. – things are replaced/refurbished/upgraded before they even begin to get any interesting patina . At Casabarata I collected a pile of big old doorkeys, rusty and wonderful. Didn’t know what do do with them for ages, then decided to hang various charms, stones, shells, bits, off colourful threads or natural wools that I dyed in rainbow colours. People liked them. I suggested hanging their own relics on them too. A well-known actor bought two a couple of years ago, at the Textile Fair in Olympia, London. Wonder what he did with them. I only have one left at present, so that’s on my to-do list.

4 Responses to “Stuff”

  1. Noreen Stoker Says:

    I like this idea. Richard, my husband, is fascinated by old keys and has quite a collection. I am more interested in the history that lies behind each one. I am now wondering what kind of relics I would choose to hang on a key …

  2. artytart Says:

    Some I do with a theme – such as ‘the sea’ – others are more to do with colour. It’s quite a good way of keeping together things that would normally just live in a box – a lone earring, coin with a hole in the middle, beach flotsam, special button etc.
    You could of course hang words/lines from a poem………….

  3. Noreen Stoker Says:

    Nice idea. that I have thought about doing poetry pockets or word stones, but key words have a nice ring …..

  4. Robert Shumake Says:

    There is obviously a lot to learn. There are some good points here.

    Robert Shumake

Leave a Reply

